Mental Health Awareness Month: My Story

I thought this was very well written and if you have a mental illness, I know you will be able to relate. It’s kind of long, but once you get started, you won’t be able to stop. Check it out.

opinionatednautilus

image

May is mental health awareness month. It isn’t getting much visibility, at least where I live or the online places I frequent, but its still nice that discussions about mental illness are happening outside of some horrible event like a school shooting. So to add to the discussion I thought I’d share my own personal struggle with mental illness.

My struggles with mental illness began when I was in high school. It was my senior year and depression started to creep in. I isolated myself, lashed out at those closest to me, my school and work performance started to suffer, it was a bad time. I rarely slept and felt like a wet blanket was always draped around me. This culminated in a unsuccessful suicide attempt I kept to myself.

It wasn’t until I was in college that I received a diagnosis. My illness flew beneath the radar of my…

View original post 2,879 more words

Leave a Reply

